<< greet those motherfuckers >>
2005-05-17 - 9:51 a.m.

I just got a notice back from an (entry level) job that I had applied for, saying that they appreciated my interest, but that since they had such a strong list of candidates they decided to interview only people who either had extensive experience in youth services or were fluent in another language.

In a way, I guess I'm glad to know that it wasn't my terrible personality or whatever, but I really wish I had taken Spanish.

**
**

In the meantime, I'm applying for a job at a local prep school where middle school students pay just under $18,000 a year in tuition (high school students just under $19,000). I think the worst thing about a place like that would probably be the parents, but I don't think parents usually think to blame the librarian for the fact that little Kaitlyn didn't do as well as they had hoped on her PSATs.

I'm also starting the interview process with the county library system next Monday. They have more jobs, and are supposedly less obsessed with extensive experience than the city system. Instead, they are obsessed with Customer Service, which, although I'm actually not bad at it and generally enjoy, is slightly creepy. Like, as a portion of the interview they make you stand at the door of a library you've probably never been to and greet people as they come in, in the manner of employees at Ann Taylor. Then they have those insane pieces of head gear like at Old Navy, and they assault you in the stacks to ask if you need help.

The theory is that people are terrified of librarians and can't bring themselves to ask the person with the giant sign over her head that says "INFORMATION" how to find a book. Apparently the studies show that people are gigantic wusses, but I still think it's ridiculous. I mean, I'm all for making people feel welcome and being available to meet their needs, blah blah blah, but a library of all places should be a place where you can be left alone if you're not bothering anyone.

Having said that, however, I will greet those motherfuckers at the door with the best of them if it will get me a job.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31