<< "Love is a really strong word" >>
2003-06-16 - 8:44 a.m.

Conversation between me and New York Guy, who I was kind of/sort of supposed to be set up with Saturday evening:

Me: So, you've been visiting about a week then? Do you love Seattle?

Him: Love is a really strong word. That's a pretty leading question, isn't it? I mean, I don't really get that emotional about these things.

Pause.

Me: I'm sorry, NYC Guy, but I don't think we can be friends.

I was kidding, of course, but let me set the scene for you: It was late Saturday afternoon and we were sitting on the balcony at the Cloud Room high above a gorgeous day in Seattle, with the sun setting behind us and the mountains and skyline all around, enjoying some well-made drinks. What was not to love?

*Warning*

The rest of this entry will be a list of things that I want to make sure I remember about this weekend when I am eighty. Feel free to skip.

1. Friday night, Yo la Tengo show: Birdgyrl and I changed the very last song of the night, at the end of the second encore. All the members of the band play all the different instruments, and they were all set to sing the last song when they heard us screaming our request in unison. Then they paused, put down their instruments, picked up different ones, and played our song. Quote from Birdgyrl: "Magic."

2. Saturday: M's game. Bloody Marys (at the Triangle), sun, beer, DK, Birdgyrl, and M and J, the cutest couple ever, who are breaking my heart by leaving Seattle soon.

3. Saturday evening: Above-mentioned drinks at the Cloud Room with Monkey, Trey, and Trey's friend from NYC, which were very enjoyable despite NYC's guy's lack of love for Seattle. (And obviously, I can be a little bit overbearing with the Seattle love. It wasn't really his fault.)

4. And then: Barbeque at DK's. Good friends, good times.

5. And then: U.S.E. show at the Sunset. We brought about 10 people, most of whom hadn't seen U.S.E. before, and everyone had a very good time. Me most of all.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31