<< TGIT >>
2003-05-13 - 8:43 a.m.

Good morning!

I asked to take tomorrow off work, so today is Friday for me. Suckas! It's also Capitol Hill Happy Hour night, and my favorite band is playing at Chop Suey, so I'm hoping to lure some of the happy hour kids down there. You should come! You'll thank me, I promise. Nobody sings about vacation like United State of Electronica.

**

**

Last night a friend of mine from graduate school (at the U of Oregon) called, and I could tell she was close to tears. She finished the program around the time I started, and has her PhD, but since the crappy job market for professionals in the humanites has gotten even crappier in the brave new Bush economy, she is newly unemployed (again). She is a brilliant woman and I love her, but she is a living, breathing testimonial as to why getting a PhD in English is not a good idea unless you are independently wealthy and have a lot of time on your hands. I'm so glad I got out when I did.

Anyway. She called to tell me that she got rejected from the University of Washington's Information School. I don't mean to sound snotty, but I didn't know anyone got rejected from library school, especially not someone who has already written a book. I hope I made her feel better, but I'm not sure I did.

I'll admit, it made me really grateful for what I have, which is plenty.

**

**

Yesterday evening I walked all over Capitol Hill and pretended that I was a foreigner who had never seen the city before. It's a fun game to play because it makes you notice everything equally--the sun slanting through a tree, the homeless man asking for change, Lake Union, the woman giggling into a cell phone, spit on the sidewalk, the facade of a building, the Space Needle, a row of tulips.

It made me happy.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31