<< my spinsterly feelings >>
2003-09-03 - 9:05 a.m.

It really sucks that Monkey isn�t here. She called me yesterday from her first day back in the nanny trenches, and I could hear the kids making little baby noises in the background. They were really cute. She could hear little baby noises coming from here, too, but it was just the whiny attorneys. Not so much with the cuteness.

I called my landlord yesterday to try to renegotiate my lease, so that I can afford my apartment once school starts. It�s not the greatest apartment ever, but if I could just live in the same place for two years in a row for once since 1994, that would be really, really great. I�m tired. Some stability would be nice. So please say a little prayer for me to the rental gods of your choosing that old Jack will be willing to give me a $100 discount per month in order to keep the apartment filled.

I�m really behind on phone calls. I owe ten or fifteen people nationwide a long-distance call, but I�ve had trouble bringing myself to make them. Once I haven�t talked to someone in a while, the whole idea of trying to get that someone up to speed, and find out about every thing that�s been going on with them for the past year or whatever, fills me with dread. As my friend Wayne likes to say when I ask him what�s going on with him, �Well, I�m not married, and I don�t have any kids.� For single people in their late 20�s, those are pretty much the only real news items left, and if you�re not delivering on those then it�s hard to know how to steer the conversation. I mean, I could say, �Well, I have a really great group of friends, and we go see a lot of music, especially this one band, and, um, I really like my cat . . .� But you can see what I mean. Doesn�t sound very important. I�m getting some mileage out of this whole library school thing right now, but that won�t last forever.

I finally did call a very old friend of mine last night; I reconnected with her through friendster (thank you, friendster, for finally proving useful!) and found out that she is getting married and has bought a house. Actually though, it turns out that everyone�EVERYONE�we used to hang out with in high school is either married, or will be by next summer. These are the freaky kids, you guys. Not the preps who got married right out of college. Seriously, of our group of about fifteen people I am the last single one standing, except for John, who is gay and has a serious live-in boyfriend. Punk rock Matt just got married, even. (Actually, this is his second marriage, but who�s counting?) Matt and I had exchanged a couple of messages just last week(also through friendster), and the little fucker didn�t even tell me about the wedding.

Maybe he was trying to spare my spinsterly feelings. Sheesh.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31