<< queen anne vingettes >>
2006-06-27 - 9:15 a.m.

There's been a heat wave the past few days, and people are freaking out. Local NPR commentators caution against going outside and urge us to drink fluids, and lots of fishy white Seattle flesh is on display all over town, to the consternation of many.

Between you and me though, Internet, I find the heat wave to be completely awesome. Of course, I promptly came down with a cold the first day it was nice out, so maybe the heat is just balancing out my fever chills. Either way, I haven't been unpleasantly warm yet. Sundresses galore!

**
**

These little anecdotes should give you a pretty solid feel for the neighborhood where I work.

1. Right next door to the library is a preschool. It is called, "Sweet Pea Cottage: Preschool of the Arts."

Seriously. One can only assume that these talented children fingerpaint in oils.

2. The other day, a frustrated computer user was swearing at me. And even though he was clearly American, he was swearing at me in British--it was all "bleeding this" and "bloody that."

So I said, "Listen buddy, I don't have to stick around if you're going to talk to me like that. This is America, and over here we swear with four-letter words. What are you, a commie?"

3. Last week I walked into the children's area and a six-year-old child (old enough to know better) was coloring all over the floor with an orange crayon. He was at the vortex of a huge pile of debris--puzzles, books, stuffed animals--and he had already colored about a full square yard of carpet when I caught him at it. I stopped him and asked him where his parent was.

We found his mom and I said, "Your child has been coloring all over the floor over there; we would really appreciate it if you could keep an eye on him."

At which, the mom turned to her son and said, "Sweetie, let's not color on the floor. If you do, that mean lady over there won't ever let you come back to the library."

And the Mean Lady turned back to pick up the colossal mess the Nice Mom's kid had made.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31