<< TV journal 4/28/02 >>
2003-04-29 - 8:51 a.m.

Last night was a banner television night for me.

First of all, they aired a That 70's Show that I had never seen before. It was like a miracle.

Then, just when I thought life couldn't get any better, I got to watch the premiere of Manor House on PBS. I am a sucker for Public Broadcasting's version of reality tv. Now, while nothing can take the place of Frontier House in my heart, Manor House appeals to my inner Anglophile. A lot of the things that you learn from watching this show are pretty self-evident--that it sucks to be a scullery maid, for example, and that ordinary people who are given servants will probably last about 2.5 seconds before treating them like crap--but some of the stuff about how the house works is pretty interesting. Thank god for flushing toilets, is all I'm saying.

Then I had rented Before Sunrise, so I started that. I had purposely avoided this movie for years because a.) Ethan Hawke, and b.) the cheesy title. But then I read some dialogue from it online somewhere, and it sounded good, and hey---it is good! You know how in most movies, either the people are incredibly amazing with the snide, witty repartee and they never make a false or self-conscious step, or else it's the other extreme: that newish kind of movie where every gesture that every character makes is so awkward and painful and embarrassing that you want to pull your shirt up over your head? (I'm thinking of movies like Happiness.) Anyway---this movie hits right inbetween, where most of us live; you're talking to someone you really like and you get off a zinger one second, and then the next you say something goofy and you're smiling a little too big and laughing just a little too long, but probably the other person doesn't notice because they look a little bit silly themselves.

I went to sleep before the end, though, so it might devolve into sappiness in the last half hour. I'll get back to you.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31