<< unicorns and rainbows >>
2004-06-02 - 12:43 p.m.

I have been waiting and waiting and waiting for the first season of Northern Exposure to come out on dvd, and I was so excited when I found out earlier this week that it was finally available for only $40, and that it came with a mini collectible parka! Because I've always wanted to collect mini parkas! And this might be my only chance!

But then I realized that for my $40, I will only get 8 actual episodes of the show, because apparently NE was originally a mid-season replacement for something. I mean, yes the mini collectible parka is quite thrilling, but is it thrilling enough to make up for the, oh, 17 episodes of goodness that I'm not getting? Perhaps if they offered me two mini collectible parkas . . .

**

**

I had the best conversation with my brother last night. We're actually friends now, which is nice because he's really smart and funny, but he used to be sort of a cocksure Sigma Nu asshole kind of guy. Nobody had ever, until recently, suggested to him that he was not perfect in every way and right about everything.

I think he had sort of been growing up anyway, but the big change happened after his lame girlfriend Caroline (pronounced KERR-uh-lahn--the flat "I" is very important) dumped him on a dime a few months ago because he wouldn't cough up an expensive engagement ring (yet).* Caroline's argument was that at 24 (almost 25!!), she was an old maid who needed a husband pronto.

So she left my brother for a 21-year-old bartender she met while they were still dating because he, the bartender, gazed into her eyes over a bar covered in Bud Light and (having met her exactly five minutes before)said, "Honey, you're the kind of girl I could marry." So Caroline ran off to Panama City with the bartender, where one can only assume the two of them stocked up on matching airbrushed t-shirts and licence plate covers that said "Caroline -N- Bartender 4-Ever." Probably with unicorns. And rainbows.

That girl was really, really dumb. I met her. I've met banana slugs I'd rather hang out with.

So anyway, last night on the phone my brother was telling me, all excited, that he has a blind date lined up for this weekend. So I asked a bunch of questions about the girl: she's in dental school with some of his friends, her name is Melissa, she's cute (judging from a picture he's seen), etc. But he told me, with emphasis, "I'm excited about this girl because she's smart."

Amen.

*I would never, ever wish anything bad on my baby brother. However, if something bad DID have to happen to him, it's nice he came out so much sweeter on the other side.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31