<< we could have doughnuts >>
2004-02-10 - 3:09 p.m.

I don�t really have friends in the iSchool. Birdgyrl is in the night program, so I never see her. And there are quite a few people I�m friendly with, but I don�t go out to coffee with them or buy them birthday presents or anything. This is not because I don�t like them�well, I don�t like one or two of them�but a lot of them are really cool. I just don�t feel motivated to make friends.

I think mostly I�m just tired. One woman invited me to the Valentines party she�s throwing this weekend, and the thought of going exhausts me. Not because I�d be going without a date, but more because I�d be going without Birdgyrl or Monkey, and I would have to make small talk with all of those people, and the whole idea just makes me want to take a nap. I�ve moved 4 times since college--arguably more, depending on what you call a real move--and I don�t really want to create a whole new group of friends, especially when I�ll probably just have to leave them again when I graduate. I already know and love too many people here to be able to move away easily just for the sake of something practical, like a job.

Maybe I could just start some kind of support group�Databases Anonymous, or something. We could have doughnuts and complain about the descriptive and prescriptive aspects of entities. Or whatever.

**

**

You know what�s underrated? The Postal Service. (The real thing, not the band. I think the band gets plenty of props.) I mean sure, they might go crazy and kill people from time to time, but they accomplish so much. Don�t you think it�s amazing that for pennies�pennies I say!�you can send and receive blobs of things across vast distances?

Well, I do.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31