<< on the list >>
2003-08-15 - 9:27 a.m.

I know it�s wrong, but I can�t help finding massive power outages kind of exciting. Granted, I didn�t have to read by candlelight last night. But I did still have to come in to work today. I would gladly have traded the one for the other.

**

**

I got my invitation to the Graduate Assistantship Orientation yesterday. It contained a list of things I should bring:

� Your UW student number!

� Your Husky card!

� Your driver�s license!

� Your sense of humor!!!

Now, I like to think that I bring my sense of humor almost everywhere I go, but the fact that they deemed it necessary to give my sense of humor a whole bullet point on the list strikes me as ominous. Are they going to poke me with sharp things and then, when I complain, say, �Hey, buddy, where�s your sense of humor? It was on the list!!�

**

**

Just to clear up any confusion about my last entry: I don�t think that all scholarship besides literature is worthless. I just got excited to see someone defending the pursuit of literary studies as something intrinsically worthwhile, that�s all. I think all those scholars that my new boyfriend Myron listed in his article are brilliant academics with very useful ideas-�even Freud, who crawls my ass.

It's just that most people assume that literature is something that stupid people do because they aren�t smart enough to do science or even�god help us�social science. English majors are people too, you guys. We deserve some respect. Don�t be frontin�!

I don�t know why I�m bothering since I�m not even a member of the cult anymore.

La la la.

Anyway, speaking of the cult, two of my graduate school friends are coming up for a visit. Stay out of our way; we�ll go all post-structuralist on your ass if we have to.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31