<< especially me >>
2006-08-18 - 4:00 p.m.

Lots of interesting patron interactions over the past few days.

The good:

A little boy brings a book called Jeweled Bugs and Butterflies to the reference desk to show me.

�These are so cool. They have giant praying mantises made out of diamonds!�

�How much do you think those cost?�

�A million dollars, I bet.�

**
**

The weird:

The phone rings, and as soon as I answer it someone is screaming, �NAMES OF CELEBRITIES BORN TODAY CELEBRITIES BORN ON AUGUST 18TH WHO ARE THE CELEBRITES BORN TODAY??!�

So I Googled it and read off a few celebrity names. There were some weird sounds and then the caller hung up.

I�m hoping that it was just some autistic guy fixated on celebrity birthdays, rather than some weird perv who gets off on making librarians say �Robert Redford.�

**

A lady asks for etiquette books for her 6-year-old son; apparently the little angel not only does not put his napkin in his lap, but also has a tendency to throw things at people. I recommend a book called �Time to Say �Please!�� by one of my favorite children�s authors. But the lady doesn�t want it.

�I don�t want my kid to say �please.� Let�s not get crazy. I don�t want him to be a robot!!�

**
**

The ugly:

Yesterday a man came in with his two kids. There is a longer story about how he broke a library policy after being warned not to, and we asked him to leave, but I won�t bore you with that. The upsetting part was the way he clocked his 4-year-old son across the face.

While the boy was sobbing and holding his face, and we were calmly explaining that he needed to go, the father put his finger about three inches from my nose and said, �You people are terrible. Especially you.�

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31