<< sometimes it takes a while >>
2003-04-16 - 10:38 a.m.

Today I am quietly happy for no particular reason. There are little reasons, of course--T-Rock just got good news, for example, and I calibrated my caffeine dosage just right this morning. And I've managed to hold just the right song in my head all day. (You people who can listen to music at work might not realize how tricky yet crucial the song-holding-in-the-head can be. If you let yourself slip into thinking about, say, the theme song from "Who's the Boss?", you're completely screwed.)

I have been thinking about this whole travel thing a lot lately, and what I have decided is that the most important thing is to think of yourself as a pilgrim and an adventurer, wherever you are. I want to always be watching for opportunities to explore new nooks and crannies, and to always pay careful attention, even to the places and people I meet every day.

This is a hopeless cliche, worthy of an inspirational office poster, mug, or possibly day-by-day calendar, but I have never claimed to be very original or swift on the uptake. Sometimes it takes a while (nearly 27 years, to be exact) for the trueness of a cliche to really sink in.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31