<< I am PAYING MONEY to learn this stuff >>
2004-12-01 - 1:43 p.m.

I have a lot of hate in my heart today, and it's all for one very special person--my Young Adult Materials professor.

She did a booktalk for us today--you know, to show us how to "sell the book" to the kids. It was the worst booktalk I've ever seen (I would have been embarrassed for her if I liked her at all), and then afterwards she said, in all seriousness,

"Props are really important for booktalks for teens. Since my book was about cars, I really should have brought in a rag soaked with gasoline, because smells really trigger your memory, mkay?"

What?!? A rag soaked with gasoline?!

I emailed Mrs-Roboto about it, and she suggested that it would be a great idea if I did a booktalk about Latina gangs, "and you brought in knives and homemade tattoo equipment and gave every kid a tear drop to symbolize that they were a killer."

That Mrs-R, she's a genius. Hard to believe she's not even in library school.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31