<< why I am grouchy, in simple outline form >>
2003-04-10 - 8:39 a.m.

I've been really grouchy this week. Oscar's got nothing on me. I've tried to avoid social situations lately because I am no fun whatsoever.

The reasons for this are as follows:

1. The Weather.

I know it's not really the thing to complain about the weather in Seattle, and I usually do try to refrain, but I think that this is the core of all my problems. I could overcome everything else if I could just overcome it wearing a sundress and possibly sipping a margarita.

2. My Job.

Obviously, my job has not changed, and in fact in some ways it has been less painful than usual lately. But now, what with the getting into UW and trying to plan the school year and everything, I've kind of tasted freedom, and that makes being here that much harder. Speaking of which,

3. I Need A Vacation.

Not counting the stressful hell that is Christmas, I haven't had any significant time off since starting this job.

4. I Need, Er, Other Stuff.

This is the one I feel jerkiest for complaining about. I have been in Seattle seven months, and in that time I have met many beautiful, amazing people, and some of them have even been guys, but not one of them has been someone that I would consider making out with.

Not one! How can this be? (And let's be honest here, it's not as though masculine Seattle has been beating down my door, either.) The only men I know of that I would consider making the moves on live in either Boston or New York. The fact that these people don't necessarily want the moves made on them is irrelevant, as they are far away and safe from my clutches.

Sorry to be such a whiney baby, especially when there are so many far more important things going on. This is a conversation that I would be embarrassed to have with half the people that I know read this journal, but somehow the little white box is just so insistent. And I do feel a little bit better for having typed it all out. (Thank you to the few sweet friends who have had the misfortune to deal with me in person and/or on the phone this week. You are patient and kind.)

I really am trying to pull myself together, though. I think birdgyrl and I are going to go to a movie tonight. Baby steps, peeps. Baby steps.

By the way, other people came up with some awesome suggestions for phone voices to do here at The Firm, as mentioned in yesterday's entry. You should check out my notes and guestbook.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31