<< weekend round-up >>
2003-06-09 - 8:47 a.m.

The one bad thing about the incredibly long days we are having right now* is that at 10:00 on a work night (which was my bedtime during the winter), I think, "It just got dark five minutes ago! I can�t go to bed yet! I wonder what�s on UPN?" And then I stay up until midnight watching, like, Buffy reruns.

Friday night we had a very fun slumber party at Monkey�s house. Nobody's underwear was frozen, but we ate enough junk food to feed a small nation and we watched that movie where the Dawson�s Creek guy is a big jerk.

On Saturday DK, Birdgyrl, Monkey (aka Lee, aka Her Real Name), Monkey�s fianc� S. and I all went on a bike ride out to the winery. It ended up being about a 35-mile round trip. I hadn't been on a bike ride since my bike got stolen in New Orleans about this time last year, so I was definitely the wuss of the group---the last 6 miles or so, which were uphill and in the sun, well, they hurt. A lot. Ouchie. But I did it, and the bbq that DK made afterwards was maybe the best food I've ever tasted. I felt great the next day, too, despite the night of debauchery that we had had to celebrate the ride (and also just because we are debaucherous types, I guess). Maybe it�s really true what they say---exercise is good for you!

Sunday Itzie, Birdgyrl, DK, and this guy P and I had a picnic in Volunteer Park, after Itzie showed us her garden. It�s a really nice garden, and she�s going to let me steal some of her lettuce, yay!

Then later, in the golden late afternoon time that is now happening around 8 or 8:30, Bob came over on his Vespa and gave me, first of all, some red dirt-themed presents from Archie Mcphee�s, and second, my very first ride on a motorbike of any kind. No wonder my parents warned me against motor bikes, they are a lot of fun! Bob is fun to ride with, too, because he chats it up with pedestrians and drivers and they love him and you feel vaguely famous. Seattle looked beautiful and the theme music from the end of Amelie was playing in my head the whole time. I had permagrin for about half an hour afterwards.

Also this weekend, I heard several rumors about myself that weren�t true. It was kind of fascinating, because the rumors made me sound much more calculating and conniving (and frankly, interesting) than I really am, but also kind of depressing, because I�m not sure how you go about stamping out brush fires like that. Like, should I try to track down the sources of the rumors? Should I just ignore them? Should I take out a billboard that says, "All that hostility that you�ve heard of coming from RDG? So not there! None of those thoughts have ever occured to her!"

On a brighter note, Amishboy is apparently going to make it into Seattle tonight. He is a fast driver. Itzie and I are thinking of starting a pool over how many speeding tickets he got. My personal best for all my trips across the country was just two tickets, one in Kansas and one in some western state, maybe eastern Oregon, I'm not sure. My advice to you: Don�t speed in Kansas. The people there look like characters from the Far Side. And this is coming from a woman who grew up in Alabama.

*Okay, it isn't really a bad thing. There is no bad thing about having incredibly long days. It's just really nice.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31