<< Is it "noo-high-sul"? >>
2003-06-11 - 9:06 a.m.

When I first moved to Oregon in late 1999, my brother briefed me on how to speak intelligently about U of O football so that I could immediately fit in with the locals. He suggested that I be optimistic about the Ducks' upcoming season, but also concerned that they might have a serious hole in their offense since Akili went pro.

I memorized this little speech and gave it several times at bars and cocktail parties. Jock-types all over Eugene were wildly impressed.

And my brother is still there for me, Pac-10 wise. This is from an email he sent me today (having deviated from his Fridays-only email schedule only because I tried, unsuccessfully, to call him last night for his birthday):

Are you aware of current predicament the (soon to be former) University of Washington Coach, Rick Neuhisel, is in? He did a little gambling that the NCAA isn't too happy with. Surely you've heard about it. If someone's talking about it and you want to chime in say something like, "I know Coach Nuehisel broke a rule but isn't the NCAA going a little overboard with this one. I mean everyone enters into a betting pool for the NCAA (basketball) tournament. Plus, he had permission from the University's compliance director." Probably doesn't make much sense to you but trust me on this one.

So now all I have to do is find out how to pronounce "Nuehisel" before I try this out on the attorneys in the break room.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31