<< the Catholic rumor mill >>
2004-03-31 - 11:29 a.m.

Monkey called me this morning and said that everyone in the town where both of us grew up, and more specifically, the church that we attended, knows about my, you know, cancer. Monkey�s sister heard about it from her roommate, who heard about it from her own mom (who was, by the way, Monkey�s and my fourth grade teacher), who heard it from a woman who is a second cousin of my mother�s, but not an especially close friend. At that point, the trail gets a little stale. Did my mom call her cousin and make an announcement? Did Cousin hear it from someone else? We have not yet put our sleuthing skills to work on this question.

I wonder if I am listed in the prayers for the sick at St. James Catholic? I don�t really care that these people know, but I feel kind of bad because I�m sure they think things are worse than they really are�poor RDG, dying of cancer all alone on the West coast, husbandless and childless, at such a tragically young age. Actually, I have stage 0 cancer (you didn�t know there was a Stage 0, did you?), and I�m going to be fine.

It�s weird to me that my mom�s cousin Lucy knows about this, but I haven�t told a soul in the iSchool.

Speaking of school! I went to my first Public Library Services for Youth class last night, and it was the freaking bomb. For one thing, we get to read young adult literature. And I�m going to learn how to set up literacy programs and community outreach and school partnerships and oh my gosh, I get all hyperventilate-y just thinking about it. It�s also pass/fail, which I didn�t realize when I signed on but suits me fine. I�m only taking 10 hours total, and if I were more hardcore I�d take a whole nother class. But I�m not going to, because a.) I�m lazy, and b.) On the chance that I do have to get the radiation (good times!), there�s no point in racking up a bunch of incompletes. That�s my philosophy anyway.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31