<< better >>
2003-04-11 - 8:41 a.m.

I have recovered from yesterday's bout of what my father refers to as "the po- me's" (pronounced POH-meez).

The po-me's were a disease that my brother and I were never allowed to have as kids. Every time we ventured to suggest that something in our lives was unfair, my dad would begin to chuckle. Outraged, we'd yell at him, "It's not funny!" at which point my father would collapse into his trademark belly laugh. "Oh yes," he'd say, while my brother and I tried to hold together some scrap of dignity for ourselves, "It's not fair, and it's not funny!" Nothing amused him more than the tragedies of our young lives.

And really, the tragedies of my 26-almost-27-year-old life are almost as silly. Which is not to say that it isn't okay to feel bad sometimes--I think it's sort of the human condition that practically perfect is never enough. But it is not okay to wallow, at least not for long. Especially when you have a sweet deal like I do.

So yesterday evening I began waging a campaign for a better mood. After work I took advantage of a brief sunbreak and went for a run. Then we had a semi-impromptu ladies' night at my house, for which the ladies brought over curried vegetables, a DVD of 6 Feet Under, and treats, and I did nothing whatsoever except throw the clutter into my bedroom before they came over.

[Really Long Aside: I like 6 Feet Under a lot. I had never seen it before, but I enjoyed it because a.) the writing/production value is extremely good, b.) I want the straight brother to be my boyfriend instead of the crazy lady's boyfriend, and c.) I think I should think about death more. Not in a morbid way, just as a part of life, and as a way of making myself realize (as the character who should be my boyfriend said in one of the episodes we watched last night) that life is important. It's a shame to waste any of it on the po-me's.]

So ladies' night was lovely. Then I got up this morning and did my full-on yoga routine (that's TWO instances of exercise in one 24-hour period, for those of you keeping score at home), ate my breakfast, took my vitamins, and took a St. John's Wort for good measure. I've had some all winter but I never take them for some reason. I'll let you know how it goes.

p.s. to Itzie: I don't know what you're talking about! I have been through 5 northwestern summers, including one on the side of a glacier-covered mountain, and they have all involved sundresses. Are you trying to crush my very soul?

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31