<< the gods >>
2004-06-25 - 11:01 a.m.

Yesterday was my first full day at the Youth Services Center, and it went okay. I didn't get eaten alive, at least. I like the woman who runs it, and she's good at her job, but she's been doing it for twenty years and she really doesn't want anyone else doing anything. So that's kind of frustrating. But I won't always be working with her, so hopefully I'll get to do a couple of things now and then on her days off.

I'm not kidding myself that I'm going to change these kids' lives--at best, it would be nice to hook one or two of them up with books they'll like. But it's really all about me, and I know that.

**

**

The gorgeous warm weather went away, but it seems to be trying to come back. Let's not upset the Weather Gods with any more complaints about the heat, okay?

I might not seem religious but I actually do believe in several very powerful sets of deities to whom fealty and thanks must regularly be paid. The Weather Gods are perhaps the most important, but it is also necessary to appease the Traffic Gods, the Parking Gods, and the Getting You A Good Table At The Restaurant Gods.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31