<< my animal friends Bird and Monkey >>
2003-06-25 - 9:59 a.m.

The mountains are all showing off today. Cheeky buggers!

I have a recurring and somewhat scary dream about a tidal wave. The other night I had it again, so I looked it up in one of those cheesy online dream dictionaries, and I found this:

To see a tidal wave in your dream represents an overwhelming emotional issue that demands attention. You may have been keeping your feelings and negative emotions bottled up inside.

Dude. I am like, so deep.

Here is one issue I have negative emotions bottled up inside about: My Monkey is leaving the Firm. She's going to nursing school, and she's going to be a nanny in the daytime instead of slaving away for the spoiled attorneys. She's just waiting for the agency to pair her with a suitable family.

I'm very happy for her, and I've been cheering for her to get the hell out of here as soon as possible, but OH MY GOD. Life here at Walker Gambini Sandwich and Boombati is going to be completely unbearable when she leaves. I'm only here until September, but these are going to be the nine longest work weeks of my life. Our lunches at her house are such a relief--an hour of normality in days when I am otherwise just an automaton.

Monkey is my oldest friend and my best cheerleader. I have known her for twenty years, which is just about as good as having a sister. Being a receptor has been worth it just to hang out with her more.

Birdgyrl started school this week, too. She's starting the MLIS program in the night school, but she'll kind of/sort of be a day scholar with me this fall. I am very jealous of my animal friends Bird and Monkey, with their school books and learning and such. I know it's stressful, and they are working very hard, but I miss school. I loved going to class---I am a big geek and there is nothing I like better than to get into a room with a bunch of smart people who've all read the same thing and hash it out. I loved writing boring papers on metonymy and violence in Titus Andronicus. I loved teaching eighteen-year-olds how to write a thesis. And I was pretty good at all of these things.

I can't wait to have dorky conversations about the philosophy of information. I really can't.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31