<< animals of the future >>
2005-05-25 - 3:00 p.m.

My day yesterday actually picked up quite a bit after I got to work. There were tons of kids in the library yesterday afternoon, for some reason, and they were all busy being awesome. Capitol Hill doesn�t have as many kids as some of the other branches; it�s a really urban (read: expensive) neighborhood, with more young singles/couples and few families. But yesterday was a bonanza.

The first kid was probably in about the 4th grade, possibly as young as 3rd. He hit us with this reference question: �I want to see books that show what animals will look like in the future!� Isn�t that the coolest question? If I ever have a 10-year-old I hope he asks questions like that. We only found one book for him in our library, but it was pretty cool�weird mammals with giant eyeballs and stuff like that. We had some other stuff sent to him from other branches.

Then a 6th grader�one of the kids I�d booktalked to at the neighborhood middle school a couple of months ago�came in and asked if he could set up his science project outside the library. While he was waiting for the final word from the manager, we talked books. The best book he�d read lately, he said, was the The Da Vinci Code, which he said was very exciting. I told him he was reading way above my level, but we did find some common ground in fantasy. As it turned out, he couldn�t conduct his science project (which involved drinking different colors of soda and rating their sweet/sourness�I submitted to science on my break) on library grounds, but he could set up on the corner just off our steps. He told me later that he had 21 participants, and I said that sounded like a scientific sample to me.

About an hour before closing a girl�probably about 5th grade, she�s a regular�came in and signed up for the study room. She told me that she had to write a story for school, but that she didn�t really like writing stories and was better at math. I told her that was great, she could be a famous scientist and make a million dollars, and she said that was her plan. When she came back down to sign out for the study room, she let me read her story, which was a science fiction saga about talking animals of the future. Whenever people met cats in this world, they had to bow before them. I said I thought my cat would go for that.

The other librarian said that she (the librarian) wouldn�t do very well in that world, since she had bad knees. The girl gave her a very disdainful look and told her that you only had to bow to the cats when you met them the first time.

Duh.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31