<< do you want to hear my maggot story? >>
2004-04-06 - 4:24 p.m.

I love my night class, which is the kids class. I just wish we didn't have to have it at night. I have a gap in my schedule from 11:20 am until 6 pm, and I don't know what the hell to do with it. It's too early in the term for my boss to have a lot for me to do. I could read way ahead for my classes, but let's not kid ourselves. I guess I need a hobby. Possibly I should take up knitting like everyone else in the iSchool. People actually sit in class and knit. Maybe I'll take up archery and practice during those extra long lectures.

My Orkut fortune for the day is "You are next in line for promotion at your firm," which is pretty sweet. I can't wait to be made Head Graduate Assistant! Oh how I will lord it over the other graduate assistants! My reign will be bloody and absolute!

**

**

Do you want to hear my maggot story? I asked some people that question the other day. Nobody said anything but I told them anyway, and I'm telling it again.

If you have a really weak stomach, you might want to stop here for today.

So I was cleaning my house on Saturday afternoon when I heard this splashing noise coming from my balcony, where I had some clothes hanging out to try. I ran out there and sure enough, the people who live above me were dumping water all over my balcony. But on closer examination, I discovered that the water was filled with maggots. That's right, my clean clothes and my entire, newly-cleaned balcony were covered in wriggling fly larvae.

The thing they don't tell you about maggots is, they are hard to squish. They really present a cleaning challenge on many fronts. I'll spare you the details.

I knocked on the door upstairs but nobody answered. I'm sure they went out on the town right after blessing me with the gift of maggots from the sky.

Later, I happened to be walking out of my apartment at the same time as they were, and I pointed out that in the future I would prefer not to have maggoty water dumped on my porch. They explained that a bird had died on their balcony, and they needed to clean it up. I explained that I didn't give a rat's ass--their maggots were their problem.

"Oh, it just never occured to us that the maggots would land on your balcony!"

At that point, I gave up. Some people are so stupid that it's pointless to try.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31