<< happy trails >>
2004-06-07 - 9:53 a.m.

On Saturday I went hiking with Mrs-Roboto and Mr. Roboto, their very nice friends who live next door, and two happy dogs. Well, the dogs were happy most of the time; apparently it was National Trails Day, which is celebrated in Washington State by having lots of rangers out on the trail to tell you to put your dog on a leash and threaten to give you tickets. But the dogs were released whenever we passed the rangers, and no tickets were issued. So it was a happy National Trails Day for everyone.

I was afraid that I wasn't going to be able to keep up with Mrs "I'm Training for a Triathlon" Roboto, her long-legged husband, and their athletic neighbors, but it ended up being okay�the hike we took wasn�t all that strenuous. In fact, I'm not even sore except for the massive purplish-yellow bruise/scrape on my thigh from when I fell on my ass and slid down a muddy embankment in a magnificently graceless way. And just in time for swimsuit season!

Also, if you go over to the Roboto house after a hike, they provide red wine by the fireside and a shower, complete with a hair towel. I recommend it.

After that we went to a barbeque where someone else spilled the red wine on the white carpet for once. So it was a good party.

**

**

News from the home front:

� My brother�s blind date went well. He says he�ll call her again, but if it doesn�t work out he won�t freak out or anything.

� My parents� rich friend put on a big trout tournament. Although the fishing was tough, another family friend, Martha Smith, caught the third largest trout.

**

**

I�m going to Chi-town on Thursday. (It�s pronounced Shy-town. I learned this from my Lonely Planet Guide to Chicago just in time to prevent embarrassing myself among the locals.) Do you have any suggestions for what I should do while I�m there? I have nearly a week.

I�m very interested in the International Museum of Surgical Science, where they apparently have a couple of people who died in the 40�s cut up into slices for your viewing pleasure. I can't imagine going to Chicago and not seeing that.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31