<< le week-end >>
2003-03-24 - 8:42 a.m.

Oh dear. The weekend.

Friday night Rachel and I went to see the best band ever. They are called the United States of Electronica. I can't even explain what's so great about them, I just giggled all the way through their set because of the extreme amount of goodness they exuded. Luckily they are local so I can devote my life to following them around without incurring much debt or losing my job. Come join me. I'm thinking of investing in a VW bus.

I have recently realized, by the way, that I will ever meet my boyfriend in a bar. This is not because I am better than the other people there, or because my boyfriend wouldn't be there necessarily. The bars of Seattle are no doubt crawling with potential Red Dirt Boys. It's just that, because of who I am (shy) and the kind of people I want to date (also usually pretty shy), there is just no way we will walk up to one another and begin talking. It won't happen.

So anyway.

Saturday was Spring Break 2003. The day broke sunny, then there was a horrible hailstorm, and then it cleared off again into a day that was pretty much the best we could hope for, for March in Seattle. I think it was a very good party--R and I are lucky to have such nice, affable friends, who know other nice people and are also willing to help out with tedious party chores such as tending the grill (Erick) and slicing the onions (Abby). And it was the kind of party where people actually talked to people besides the ones they came with, which made me happy. The party lasted from 3:00 until about 11, although I was forced to stumble home and pass out at 10.

Last night Lee, her man S, and I went to dishery's Oscar party. Here are some notes from the evening:

1. I didn't come close to getting the most picks. I never would have guessed the Roman Polanski thing.

2. Steve Martin? Hilarious. Also brave. Whole new respect for him.

3. All those women who were actually insulted that he joked about having slept with them? Lame.

4. Michael Moore getting booed for voicing the very same opinions that won him the Oscar in the first place? Also lame.

5. Has Michael Douglas had surgery? He looked less crinkly and more stretched than usual, I thought.

6. Say what you will about Jack Nicholson, he doesn't mind being called gay on international television, and in fact plays it off with style. That's my kind of guy.

7. Boring fashion year.

8. Dishery throws a hell of an Oscar party. She is a hostess extraordinaire.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31