<< let the pants bring you a miracle!! >>
2005-06-23 - 3:58 p.m.

I liked The Pants. (Also, I like saying "pants." It's a funny word.) In fact I liked The Pants so much that even when the pseudo-punk rock member of the Sisterhood wailed to the child with leukemia, who was lying on her deathbed with dark, ominous circles under her eyes, "You have to wear the pants! You have to let the pants bring you a miracle!!" I did not begin to hate the movie.

We failed to find a pair of magic pants that would fit all four of us (it turns out that Sisterhood Pants come from the Thrift Store of Magic--new pants won't do), but we did find a very nice maternity dress at a reasonable price, which, considering the prices on the other crap in that store ($250 tank tops that you can only wear for a couple of months?!), was a bit of a miracle in and of itself.

**
**

My favorite guilty pleasure lately? A Treasury of Royal Scandals. I checked out the book on cd from the library and have been eating it up--I'm already on cd number 6. Did you know, for example, that Nero (who ruled Rome a couple of generations after Jesus' time) was his mother's lover until he had her murdered? (She was a tough old bird, though--he had to poison her three times, drown her, and finally stab her to death before it took.) Or that Henry VIII, beheader of wives and married 6 times, was actually married to his first wife for 20 years and was quite the loving husband? Scandalous but true!

Lately I've been drawn to history which is presented to me in small, appetizing morsels. I'm lazy, but I do want to learn. Mrs. Roboto gave me Assassination Vacation for my birthday, and now that I'm finally allowing myself to read grown up books again, I'm totally loving it.

Among other things I have learned that President Garfield, who was assassinated in 1881 by a lunatic, didn't enjoy being president very much because it interfered with his private reading time. I can't even imagine.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31