<< winnie the horse gentler >>
2005-09-19 - 9:03 a.m.

It occurs to me that I haven't told you about any of the very interesting regulars at the library. We've got some good ones.

1. Captain Stubing.

That's right folks, it's Gavin MacLeod as Your Captain! Actually, I don't know what this guy's real name is, but he wears a jaunty seafaring cap just like Stubing's, often complementing it with a kicky white blazer to complete the naval effect. He's okay overall, but he's very concerned with the tidiness and efficiency of the library.

2. Joel.

Joel is known throughout the libraries on the north side of town as "Joel . . . sigh." He's sort of an all-purpose crankpot; he likes to start fights with other patrons who he feels are being too noisy, or are hogging too many library materials, or are sitting in his favorite chair, or are looking at him funny.

He also wants to ban a couple of comics that we carry. He wants you, the librarian, to understand that normally he's opposed to censorship because he's Jewish (?), but that these comics are so disgusting that once you see them you will be forced to agree that sometimes certain books just have to be banned, and what is more, that the person who decides which books those are should be Joel.

3. Horsies.

This patron never comes in to the library--or if she does, I don't know what she looks like--but she's an older lady, and she calls every single day on the phone with a list of about 7,000 items that she wants to have put on hold or ordered through interlibrary loan. Of these books, 25% are all from a series of Christian books for children called "Winnie the Horse Gentler" that was published in the 50's and is apparently now only owned by one library in northern England. The other 75% are various obscure editions of Chicken Soup for the Soul. Did you know how many Chicken Soup books are out there? At last count, I believe it was roughly 7.4 billion.

There are more, but perhaps I will tell you about them later. I just realized over the weekend that I have no pants for the winter, and plus my favorite pair of jeans now has a big hole in the ass. So I guess I need to purchase some pants before I freeze my ass off, possibly literally.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31