<< things that don't suck >>
2004-04-05 - 1:25 p.m.

I had such a good weekend. Saturday was gorgeous, the kind of day that makes me stupidly forget how miserable I was all winter and start planning the rest of my life in the Northwest. I wore flip-flops and a flowery skirt and wandered around my neighborhood feeling like a nymph or a nature sprite or some other annoying mythical creature of which tacky people often make figurines.

That night lots of people came over to my house before the U.S.E. cd release party at the Crocodile. I'm not sure whether it was the weather, or the excitement of the U.S.E. show, or the fact that we hadn't hung out in a group for a while, but pretty much everyone got Hammered. Maybe sneaking the little bottles of Jager into the bar in my purse wasn't such a great idea, but it seemed like genius at the time.

It was worth it, though. B. wants me to tell you that he pulled me up on stage at one point toward the end of the show, when the band started grabbing people. I might have resisted except that a.) I didn't really have time to think about it, b.) I was wearing a skirt short enough that resisting might have caused some technical difficulties, and c.) I was Hammered. So I danced around the stage like a big dork.

The next morning Mrs-Roboto came to pick me up for a surprise. (I hope she won't mind me telling this story of her generosity and general awesomeness. Hopefully she won't be too embarrassed.)

She blindfolded me and put me in her truck (I love her truck), walked me around, and then the next thing I knew I was at the Nordstrom Spa, getting exfoliated and slathered in yogurt and honey and wrapped up in these warm, warm blankets . . . seriously, it was heaven. I still feel limp and relaxed. And my skin? Like butta. I had been considering having a hangover, but nobody can have a hangover when they are covered in honey and also receiving a neck massage. It can't be done.

Then we had wine! And the sun came out. So basically, perfect day.

I told my mom about it later and she said, "I just can't believe how kind and generous your friends are." I had to agree.

**

**

Today I taught a tiny little section in my How to Teach class, and it went well. Which it should, since I do have some relevant experience and stuff, but it's nice to remember that I'm a pretty decent teacher. I don't suck at everything.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31