<< poop in the kitchen >>
2005-12-22 - 8:22 a.m.

I have totally awesome news. Are you sitting down? (I hope you are because reading a computer screen standing up isn�t really ergonomically sound in most situations.)

R just got a job that is basically his dream job�he�ll be the art librarian for a famous glass sculpture guy here in Seattle. (If you can name any glass guy, then that is almost certainly the guy.) This is just the kind of work that he�s wanted and just assumed he could never get here because the competition is so steep. It�s a step up in pay from the job he has now, and the kicker is that the studio he�ll be working at is three blocks from our house. Three blocks! He has been commuting to a boring job, to which he must arrive by seven or else sit in motionless traffic for an hour or two.

It really is almost too good to be true, except it isn't. Merry Christmas to us.

**

**

In other news, one of the cutest events in history happened to me at the library last night. There are these four Spanish-speaking boys* who hang out in the library almost every night, ranging in age from about ten down to five and three. Presumably their parents can�t afford daycare. They ask me a lot of questions, but for their ages they are incredibly well-behaved and cute as the dickens.

Last night the five year old told me that his older brother was going to go home and poop. He was cracking himself up with this joke. I said, with shock, �Is he going to poop in the KITCHEN? In the BEDROOM?!� That just about slayed him, but he finally recovered from his giggle fit enough to admit that the brother was only going to poop in the bathroom. I feigned relief.

But the cutest thing that�s ever happened came right after that when this same kid picked up one of our pieces of scrap paper and a golf pencil and pushed them at me.

�Do you know how to put �The library is the best?�

Oh my god.

�Yup. Do you want me to write it on there for you?�

�Yes please.�

So I wrote it down for him, saying it out loud as I wrote it. He took it from me and turned to the littlest brother and �read� it to him: �See? It says �The-library-is-the-best!��

If it had been in a movie I would have puked from the cuteness.

*They do speak English to varying degrees, with the oldest being the most fluent.


<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31