<< drying out >>
2003-04-28 - 9:01 a.m.

I am the proud owner of a brand new sunburn.

Yesterday we went to a Mariner's game and drank beer and ate peanuts and kettle corn. T-Rock had never been to a professional baseball game before, and it was pretty much the perfect first baseball experience, as far as I could tell--sitting in the sunshine drinking beer, semi-watching the game, with the skyline of Seattle and Elliot Bay beyond. The M's took it, 4-3.

Then we went to Gasworks Park for some lounging around and an alternate view of the skyline and Lake Union. I was wearing a sundress, and I felt pretty much perfectly happy. Later we even saw a rainbow, and there wasn't any rain.

**

**

At one point this weekend I was sitting on a couch at a house party talking to a friend of mine. He wanted me to pick a handsome man from the party crowd so that he could introduce me and I could get a new boyfriend, or some action anyway. But I said no, I wasn't feeling very cute tonight, and besides, I have to be in just the right mood to pull stuff like that off.

He said (after saying that I was an attractive girl, which isn't bad to hear now and then) two things, both of which I think are true: 1.) that in my real life I should be more like I am in my journal, and 2.) that my sense of humor can be kind of sarcastic and--he didn't use this word, but I will--mean sometimes.

I want to be social and outgoing and distribute the love to everyone, but I think that for the naturally shy, this can't go on indefinitely; there comes a point when we have to retreat. And if I ignore that moment, I either get prickly and cynical (sarcastic) or extra-sensitive and paranoid. Or both. So, this is my promise that I'm going to try to be more careful about monitoring that, for myself and for the people that get stuck hanging out with me. Quality before quantity, little babies.

By the way, the weather today is picture perfect, and it is supposed to continue so for a couple of days at least. Yay yay yay. And when the rain comes back--and it will, I know--I will adopt a very sensible, stoical, stiff-upper-lip attitude towards it, and drink more tea. I do like tea, after all.

**

**

Thanks for the lovely hospitality, SBD. Next time we'll do the jello shots!

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31