<< laying down beats >>
2005-09-22 - 6:49 a.m.

So anyway. I accepted a full-time, permanent, for reals Children's Librarian job. That is the good news, and its really very good. The bad news is that the library I will be working for is sort of out in the country. In a way I quite like the idea of being a small town kiddie librarian--catch my story times, they are the only gig in town!--but the commute is going to be kind of, well, a commute, and my car needs some love right now.

Still, I'm really lucky to have found a permanent job at all. I don't think anyone I graduated with has found work around here--or if they have, I haven't heard about it. (I don't mean that in a jerky way, I'm just pointing out the lucks.)

I think I'm just feeling a tiny bit ambivalent because I finally feel like I'm really succeeding in the job I have now, and I really like working with the teens. Yesterday, for instance, a teacher brought in a class of kids from the neighborhood alternative school, and I gave them a quick tour of the library and then just sort of helped them find books and whatnot. The teacher seemed really excited that I would be willing to come teach them classes on how to use the library and show them the new cool books and stuff, and making that contact would actually be kind of a big deal, since the regular librarian has had trouble getting into that school.

One of the kids came up to the desk and said,

"I want to see books about guns."

"Okay. So, you want factual books about guns, and not a novel about guns, right?"

"Yeah."

So I took him to the gun section. I apologized that we didn't have a very good selection of gun books, but said that I'd be glad to put some books on hold for him from other branches if he wanted.

A few minutes later, he came up to the desk and asked his real question:

"Do you have any books about laying down beats?"

Miraculously, we actually did have the perfect book about laying down beats. So I guess I passed that round of tests.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31