<< if I hadn't been high, it might not have bothered me >>
2004-03-23 - 9:36 a.m.

An ex-boyfriend of mine called me last night to tell me that he's written a story, and is wondering whether it would be a good idea to show said story to his Famous Author Friend. We chatted about this possibility for a few minutes (I privately think that doing this is kind of lame, but I didn�t say so in so many words), and then I said politely that I'd like to read the story. Which I wouldn't especially, but that's what you're supposed to say when someone tells you they've written something, right? It�s common courtesy. But then there was this long pause, and he said, �Um . . . maybe you can read it sometime, but . . . you�re kind of . . . in it.�

Pause.

�I don�t come off very well, do I?�

Pause.

�Well . . . I don�t think I come off very well either.�

Now, the question is, why was my advice regarding the fate of this story in which I do not come off very well so necessary that ex-boyfriend had to call me twice in the same night to hear it? Do I really need to know, at 11:00 pm on a Monday, that people in Santa Fe are writing unflattering novellas about me?

I have to stop answering my phone.

**

**

I got a 3.9 in my database class. That�s better than I did in the cataloging class, which I actually understood and sort of pseudo-enjoyed. Ah, the vagaries and mysteries of library school.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31