<< planting tomatos >>
2005-06-30 - 8:59 a.m.

Last night I told my parents that I am moving in with my boyfriend. I know that to most people this would be a pretty casual conversation--I'm 29 years old, I don't need their permission, blah blah blah. But my mom is Catholic and my dad is--well, my dad--so I was kind of dreading it. I like my parents and I don't really want to upset them or piss them off.

But they took it very well. Mom said, "Well, you know I'm old-fashioned, but I do realize that this is just the way things are now." I told her about the house and she agreed that it sounded like a good deal. Then she passed the phone over to my dad.

I had just gotten out the words "So, I was just telling Mom, I'm moving in with Ri-" when their cell phone died. I took it as a sign that maybe I shouldn't break the news to my dad, so when I called him back on their landline I chit-chatted about all the babies everyone is making and how the weather has been. Finally, he said,

"Well, when the phone cut out your mother updated me on your plans." Pause. "She told me you've planted some tomatos."

I laughed and he suggested that I could probably also get a good crop of zucchini and spinach. I said I've already got some of both in the ground. I think he was impressed.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31