<< last christmas, I gave you my heart >>
2003-12-20 - 10:36 p.m.

I�m home for Christmas, in the Peanut Capital of the World. The other night I helped Mom put the luminaria (you know, those paper bags with kitty litter and candles inside) out on the curb, because the Luminaria Police had sent out a very threatening flyer demanding compliance. The flyer had a list of demands with eleven bulleted items on it. Item #7 said: "If you have a neighbor who refuses to participate, please buy extra bags and candles to cover their area so we can have 100% participation!!!!"

**

**

Why did somebody cover that terrible George Michael Christmas song? Why why whyyyy? Also, why is it so very, very popular in the airports of America right now? And in the grocery stores? And in absolutely every public place?

I do not understand it.

**

**

We had Christmas with my mom�s family earlier tonight. As these things go, it wasn�t so bad. They drove down form Atlanta, so there wasn't any travel involved, and my Uncle Carl�s tirade against "The Dirty Mexicans" was much shorter than last year�s tirade. Plus, my cousins are once again able to carry on conversations with us, instead of just sitting silently in corners for hours. So that�s nice.

Before the family Christmas dinner, we went to visit my grandmother in the nursing home. We can�t take her out anymore, because the commotion and chaos make her too nervous. She is 95 years old, and her nerves have been shot for the last ten years or so, besides which there is the Alzheimer�s disease. Sometimes she still remembers my name when we visit, which is amazing.

Nursing homes are the saddest places in the universe. Today when we got there, they were having a holiday party, and the holiday party was so sad I could barely stand it. My mom visits every day. Almost all of the residents of the home are women, and it occurred to me today that care for the elderly would probably be a much bigger political issue if men just lived a little longer. Mom agreed that this was true.

She says that most of the residents never have visitors.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31