<< hertin & akin >>
2006-03-13 - 10:29 a.m.

I've just spent the past two hours trying to make medical and dental appointments, and it has sucked enormously.

The receptionist at the first dentist's office (the dentist's name was Dr. Aneeta Fok,* I kid you not) hung up on me, saying she'd call me back. So I waited about 15 minutes and then I called the next place on the list. The receptionist at place number two made the appointment, but was totally snippy the whole time. "So, what do you want exactly? Weeell, if you want a cleaning, the dentist doesn't do the cleaning. Only the oral hygenist does that. So obviously, you don't really want an appointment with the dentist."

Fine, you horrible bitch. Make the appointment with the oral hygenist. Christ.

Then I began trying to get caught up on mammography and breast exams. My mom keeps asking me if I'm on schedule with these, and I keep lying and saying I am. For a while I didn't have insurance, and then I was working full time with no sick leave, so I couldn't make an appointment. And now my boobs are well behind schedule.

My original boob doctor has moved to a different facility, but after many phone calls I managed to deduce that he is still covered by my insurance. (The lady at his office tried to strong arm me into seeing a resident, even after I said I didn't want to. Fuck that. My rack doesn't need to be a learning experience for anyone else. Hundreds of professionals and semi-professionals in this town have already seen it.)

However, after I had already made the other appointment, for the mammogram (you have to do them separately), I found out that my usual mammogram store, the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, is not covered by my insurance. How can they not be covered? They are the people who take CARE of CANCER. In Seattle. Come on. Give the boobs a break here.

So I've spent the last 45 minutes trying to find someplace that will squish my boobs at a discount, and I still don't have an appointment. I know it's stupid, but the whole thing has me close to tears. I'd rather think about anything else. But I should be grateful that at least I'm not working full time, because it's looking like just getting caught up on medical care is going to be a job in itself.


*Dentists often seem to have really unfortunate names. When we lived in New Orleans, Yvette went to a dental practice called Hertin & Akin. Seriously.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31