<< some rambling with a nice weiner shot at the end >>
2004-07-13 - 10:27 a.m.

My parents bought a farm this week. (A farm, not the farm. They're feeling fine, thank you for asking.) I grew up on a farm, but when they got divorced my mom eventually had to sell it. Even after they got remarried we remained in suburban limbo, even though we are really, really not a suburban family. My mom once tried to play some weird dice game that all the ladies of the neighborhood were into, and that was about it as far we made it in terms of community participation.

So, the whole farm-buying thing is great, and they'll be much happier and my dad can let the dog off his chain and plant a real garden instead of just a few raised beds out back by the pool that nobody swims in. But it's also weird (for me--this is all about me, buddy) in a couple of ways. For one thing, it's sort of strange to realize that this is it--my parents will be in this place for the rest of their lives (hopefully).

More than that, though, I kind of can't believe my parents are remarried and living on a farm. For years (and even now sometimes), I had dreams about the farm where I grew up, as the place where I had complete confidence in myself and the universe. And now it seems like everything has come full circle. Funny old thing, life.

My parents' divorce and subsequent remarriage has made me a big weirdo. I have the standard divorce kid's cynicism about relationships--people leave, there is crying, blah blah blah--but also a kind of wacky sense that hey, maybe everything will work out all right in the end, seven years later! The fact that I really have no clue why they got divorced (or remarried) makes me even weirder.

I would be weird anyway, of course.

**

**

I took myself out to a matinee of Before Sunset yesterday afternoon, and man, that movie knocked me out. I almost wished I had taken someone with me so I could talk to him/her about it, but then all the crying and sniffling I did throughout the last half hour of the film would have probably gotten embarrassing.

I saw Before Sunrise for the first time just last year, and I liked it, but I was a little too old to fall hook-line-and-sinker for the whole "We met in one night and now we're totally, totally in love!" bit. But this one hit me at just the right time. I even fell in love with Ethan Hawke a little, something I had not previously thought possible--especially when I realized that he and Julie Delphy and Richard Linklater had written the script. I had to hold onto the arms of my seat to keep myself from jumping up and screaming, "Amen, Sister!" during Celine's little freak-out scene in the car.

If you know what I mean.

Anyway. Because I have the fancy account and she wanted me to, I present:

WEINERS!



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31