<< PML 2003 >>
2003-07-07 - 9:30 a.m.

It�s strange how every time I leave Seattle, I feel like I've been to a different planet. It�s all the stranger because this time, I brought most of Seattle (as I know it) with me.

I want to tell you lake stories, but I'm not sure they translate well.

Like how the Seattle contingent had a USE dance party on the cabin deck in the late afternoon sun.

Or how Danny brought us all together with a round of "Shook Me All Night Long" on the acoustic guitar.

Or how B frolicked naked in a meadow at Yosemite, while hundreds of Japanese tourists in minivans looked on. (It was full-on frolicking, too. You would have been impressed.)

Or how at one point, when a patriotically decorated boat went by, all thirty of us spontaneously broke out into the national anthem, and sang it all the way through. Even me.

Or how we constructed an island nation of rafts called Floatilla, of which I was, for a short time, the vice president.

Or how, when we went to the only bar in town, the house band played "Sweet Home Alabama" for Monkey and me and the whole place went. off.

Or how, the last night we were there, I took the kayak out into the middle of the lake by myself to see the stars.

It was pretty much a perfect weekend, but even so, I�m glad to be back in Seattle, and I�m glad that I don�t have plans to leave again very soon. I might flirt with Baltimore or Pine Mountain Lake, but Seattle is still my strong, handsome boyfriend who always takes me back.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31