<< smoke signals >>
2005-04-19 - 9:13 a.m.

Yesterday morning as I was walking to the bus I saw a little boy, who couldn't have been more than four, standing in the window of a fancy body shop, probably waiting for his dad to pay the $8,000 bill to have their BMW buffed to a glossy shine. He had one of those classic bowl hair cuts, and he looked really bored, so I winked at him. Without missing a beat, he winked right back, and then smiled really big. Which, wow, Hallmark moment, but even more than that, I don't think I even had the muscle coordination to wink until I was about 20.

**
**

I start work at the library tomorrow. My nails are painted lavendar right now and I feel vaguely concerned that lavendar is not a very professional nail color. But maybe my nifty new Ann Taylor outfit will balance it out.

**
**

You know what I wish I could get some news about? The pope-lections!! You hardly hear anything about it except for every two minutes when some new weird color of smoke wafts out of the Sacred Papal Chimney.

Hats off to the Catholics for creating an aura of mystery about what is no doubt a deadly dull process. Other religions might see fit to adopt technologies more advanced than smoke signals, but hey, if it was good enough for cave people, it's good enough for us!

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31