<< smells like burning >>
2003-05-01 - 8:53 a.m.

The chorus to the last song I heard on KEXP this morning, sweetly sung by a woman with an English accent: "Life is unfair; kill yourself or get over it."

**

**

Last night birdgyrl and I went over to DK's to make dinner. (We made a really impressive dinner, by the way.) At one point I brought up the fact that I don't think I feel as old as I should. I feel maybe 23, on a good day. I want to do the things that the kids are doing, not the things that the grownups are doing. Those Bridget Jonesian yearnings for a husband and a more settled life? Not having them. I wonder sometimes if I'm hopelessly immature. But DK and birdgyrl said they would stick by me in KidLand, and that made me feel better.

On the drive home, as if to prove the point, Birdgyrl and I pulled up next to three guys on Vespas, rolled down our windows, and screamed, "WOOOOOOOOOOOOO!" One of the guys laughed, but I think the other two didn't know quite how to take it, especially since the two of us were laughing so hard we were practically peeing our pants. Normally I'm not much of a "woo"-er, but when confronted with three guys cruising the Wednesday night Seattle streets on Vespas, what else can you do, really?

After we left, DK had to go to the train station to pick up his mom, who is visiting him but had taken a side trip to Vancouver. I just got this email from him:

Last night my mom kept saying �something smells down here. Like a burning smell�. I laughed.


<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31