<< "Pump your way to Paradise! Lunge your way to the Lord!" >>
2002-08-01 - 9:17 a.m.

So I was watching some reality television last night (I know, I know, you shut up), and I came up with a brilliant theory. My theory is this: The one common denominator in all reality television (aside from the general crappiness, of course) is misogyny. Don't believe me? Witness the following examples:

1. The Bachelor.

I bitched about this show extensively in my other diary, so I won't go into everything that's wrong with it here. The basis of the show is that a gaggle of women are placed in a Sorority House From Hell to compete for the affections of the most boring man alive, who they have never met but are competing to MARRY. Enough said.

2. Meet the Parents.

I just caught a few minutes of this show last night, and I was horrified. First of all, it should actually be called "Meet the Scary Asshole Dad," because the basis of the show is that 3 guys stay with a family for a weekend, and at the end of it the ex-Marine dad decides who will get his daughter. (The mother is just a non-entity who cooks.) The following conversation took place when the 3 guys got to the house:

Scary Asshole Dad: MY DAUGHTER IS VERY PRECIOUS TO ME. VERY VERY PRECIOUS. IF I WERE TO COMPARE HER TO ANYTHING, I WOULD COMPARE HER TO A DIAMOND. AND IF YOU HAVE A DIAMOND, WHAT DO YOU DO WITH IT?

One of the Shmucks: You take care of it, you--

SAD: THAT WAS A RHETORICAL QUESTION! I DO NOT REQUIRE AN ANSWER! WHAT YOU DO WITH A DIAMOND IS THAT YOU LOCK IT AWAY IN A SAFE AND KEEP THE KEY. I HAVE THE KEY (gestures to actual key he is wearing around his thick, thick neck), AND AT THE END OF THE WEEKEND I WILL GIVE THIS KEY TO ONE OF YOU, AND MY DAUGHTER WILL BE YOURS.

So there you have it. Have we progressed since medieval times, when women were merely objects/possessions to be bartered for in power struggles between men? No, we have not.

I won't bore you with exhausting analysis of all reality tv. But hey, speaking of tv, I also saw last night an advertisement for

"Gospelrobics! Pump your way to Paradise! Lunge your way to the Lord!"

I am not kidding. I don't have cable, and 2 of the 7 channels that show up down here in the swamp are religious. One of them just plays Touched by an Angel on a continuous loop, with an occasional 7th Heaven thrown in for good measure.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31