<< Thank you for a lovely day, Uncle Sam. >>
2002-08-13 - 2:31 p.m.

This is not my day. I just wrote a whole entry, which this crappy old Smith-Corona happily ate.

Basically, the lesson of the day today is that all of my dealings with the United States government end with me frustrated and in tears. I started the day with a futile attempt to file my taxes. I had gotten an extension because the Turbo Tax thingy claimed I owed 87% of what I made last year, and I had been expecting a refund, so I thought I would take the time to go over it and see if I could save myself a buck or hundred. But now, sadly, Turbo Tax has no memory of our previous relationship, so it looks like I'm going to have to start all over--which isn't easy if you've lived in more than one state during the year. The government does NOT want you to move.

Then I tried to get a driver's license. My Oregon license was stolen in New Orleans, on the same day as the rest of the contents of my purse and also most of my bike. I went to the DMV, waited in line, and was told that because I had defected to Oregon, I would have to go to the state trooper's office. Now, I love a trip to the state trooper's office as much as the next girl, but when I got there (after waiting in another long line, clutching a little plastic number) I was told once again that my unfaithfulness to the great state of Alabama was going to be punished. They needed a letter from the DMV in Oregon promising that I really truly did get a license there,* as well as 347 documents of identification, all signed with the blood of a Southern Baptist virgin.

I got home and tried to call the Oregon DMV, but the line has been busy for the past hour.

*Despite the fact that this information was showing up quite clearly on the computer.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31