<< more than words >>
2004-10-12 - 10:22 a.m.

I walked into this conversation between a woman customer and the coffee guy at the Bean and Bagel this morning.

Her: I can�t believe you�re listening to this. Who is this, Nelson?
Him: Hmm, �More Than Words� . . . yeah, I think it is Nelson.
Me: Actually, this is Extreme.
Her: But this was the guys with the long blond hair, right?
Me: No, that was Nelson. Extreme was the guys with the long brown hair.
Him: Thank you so much for setting us straight.
Me: My pleasure.

**
**

Lately I have had a lot of conversations with single guys about girls�specifically, why they don�t seem to be dating the kinds of girls they want to date. I have worked up a theory about why this happens, and the essence of my theory is this: false advertising.

One of these guys, for example, wears a lot of pink shirts and wacky sunglasses and large, shiny belt buckles, but he says that all he really wants to do is move to the country and chop a lot of wood and raise fat redneck babies. Another guy dresses in what I will call, for lack of a better term, the advanced frat boy style�tasteful but plain J Crew sweaters, collared shirts, etc. But he wants to date wicked, fascinating girls�artists or Communists or English majors. Instead, as you might imagine, he tends to attract innocuous law student types.

I think I might do this too, but I have less of a sense of perspective about my own advertising issues.


<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31