<< toenails and guns >>
2004-05-25 - 2:09 p.m.

It�s been a bit warmer the last couple of days and all the undergrads have been wearing flip-flops. (I watch the undergrads with all of the interest of an anthropologist�an armchair anthropologist, though, since I never actually speak to any of them except to order coffee or request a button on the elevator.) One big fashion trend this season appears to be the French manicure on the toes. I find the French manicure on the toes deeply disturbing, mainly because nobody needs to have a quarter-inch tip of toenail sticking out at the end of their toe, painted white or not. Toenails should be as short as possible without being ingrown; otherwise you�re risking serious injury to anyone who might get in bed with you. Take note, fellas.

In other news, I just sent off an email about the fieldwork job that I want this summer, in Kiddie Jail. That�s right, I want to bring library services to the young criminals of our society, absolutely free of charge. I�m pretty excited about it, actually. Hopefully they won�t club me to death or anything.

**

**

Colonial House update:

Colonial House is depressing. It is in no way as gratifying as Frontier House. I�ve given it some thought and I think the main problem is that, mutual horrible treatment of the Native Americans aside, pioneers are just cooler than Puritans. I mean yeah, the whole Manifest Destiny idea was/is pretty fucked up, but I think I have a sneaking sympathy with those crazy people who grow beards and hide away in shacks on hillsides in Montana with a lot of canned goods and guns and big dogs. (Well, maybe not the growing beards part.) I don�t really care for the government either, or for religious organizations, or crowds. But those shacks probably don�t get very good NPR reception. Ah, there�s the rub.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31