<< family album >>
2003-08-28 - 3:10 p.m.

This is my grandfather, my father's father. His name was John.

I never met him--or my other grandfather either. Isn't he handsome? Everyone loved him.

This is a picture of his wife (future wife?), Helon.

She is the one in the middle. There are some pictures of her looking much more beautiful, taken with my grandfather before he went to war. He is wearing his uniform and she is dressed to the nines. But I don't have any of those. I wish I knew who the other girls in this picture were. It reminds me of lots of pictures I have of Birdgyrl and Monkey and me.

I did know and love my grandmother. I've heard that she was a wild child when she was a single girl in the 30's, riding around in strange jalopies and generally having a fine old time. I find these stories easy to believe.

These next two are of my father, Bob, and his older brother, also named John. They also had a little sister, Sue.

I don't have any pictures of my mother's parents as a young couple. They might exist, but they aren't as numerous as the ones of my father's parents, mainly, I think, because their marriage was not as happy. My mother's father, whose name was James, was a good man, but he was an alcoholic who went on terrible binges. His wife, Mary, is still alive, but has Alzheimer's. These are their two oldest children, Jim and Kathy.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31