<< pinko commies >>
2005-11-07 - 9:38 a.m.

R just found out that he doesn't get Veteran's Day off. What kind of pinko commie operation doesn't give their employees a day off for the vets? The library is giving me a paid holiday (though having to work Saturday does kind of take the shine off).

**
**

A good weekend. Friday night, R and I had total extreme anniversary romance at Dandelion. I ordered the duck, even though I am normally not much of a duck orderer. And it was awesome.

Saturday I drove out to the hinterlands to visit Monkey and see her adorable nursery. Guess what? She is totally going to make a baby! For some reason I've had a hard time wrapping my head around this news item, despite the fact that I was actually on the phone with her eight months ago when the stick turned pink. I think maybe this is because I identify so closely with Monkey, and it's hard to believe that I could ever make a baby with just parts that we have lying around the house. (So to speak.)

But seeing the nursery and baby's bathroom completely ready, down to the Boudreax's Butt Paste and diaper wipes, kind of made it seem as if the baby had actually been born but was maybe just in another room or something. It made me quite squirmy with excitement.

Then yesterday R and I went to the traveling Urban Craft Uprising downtown. I had it in my head that I was going to get a jump on my Christmas shopping, but who did I buy stuff for? Me, that's who. In case you are interested in my justifications, they are as follows:

1. The only new winter coat (i.e., not thrift store) I've had in the last 7 years is really more of a jacket in terms of warmth, and cost $40. And this new one was handmade, very reasonably priced, and has a squirrel on it. A squirrel I say!

2. The skirt was only $35 and come on! That shit is cute.

3. R bought me the bracelet. I don't deserve such a nice boyfriend.

So anyway, I can't buy anything else for myself until the end of time.

After that, since the sun was actually out, we walked up to Pioneer Square and had lunch in the cafe at Elliot Bay. R bought Jincy Willett's novel (we already have her short stories, you see) for $5. Then we wandered over to Uwajimaya and got the weird soups R likes, a cute Japanese toy thingie, and the vegetables for the curry I was making.

Back home, R read the paper and I caught up with those crazy kids in love on My Fair Brady.(1) There really is nothing more romantic than watching a semi-model type person badger a middle-aged has-been into totally faking her out, making her cry like her arm is being twisted off, and then finally proposing to her. I shed a tear, I tell you.


1. Did you actually go to this website? Did you see that you can get Chris and Adrianne voicetones for your cell phone? Who wouldn't want these voicetones?, asks the website. Who, indeed.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31