<< fun facts to know and share >>
2005-02-09 - 12:07 p.m.

This must be what it feels like to be important. Having never actually been important, it's difficult for me to say, but I've always been under the general impression that important people don't get home until at least 8:00 at night, work weekends, and tend to have day planners (or PDAs, I guess) in which they organize their many activities and meetings. All of these things are now true of me.

The only thing that currently separates me from the actual important people is salary, I guess.

**
**

A few interesting facts I've learned lately:

1. Cockroaches have brains, but do not need them to survive.

2. The founders of Liberia--who were freed American slaves--returned to Africa and immediately enslaved the Africans who were still living there. The slave-run plantations they set up remained in place until the 1920's, when the League of Nations finally sued Liberia and had its leadership deposed.

3. In the Permian Period (the time before dinosaurs) there were bugs that looked kind of like roly-polys, only they were 6 feet long and about 2 feet wide. (My facts are a bit bug-skewed because I'm reviewing a lot of children's books on insects.)

4. Almost any culture you can think of has a traditional trickster character, who usually is lazy but crafty, and often oversexed.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31