<< Catholic skool girls gone bad! >>
2002-07-18 - 11:27 a.m.

You know my friend Laura, the other Catholic skool girl rebel in the picture? Right, well, she lives in Seattle these days, and when I move there, it will be the first time we've lived in the same place since--well, pretty much since that picture was taken. We've kept in touch and visited some, and I've been excited about living in the same place as my oldest friend, because no matter how good new friends are they didn't know you (and still love you) when you got that really bad perm in 6th grade. Somehow, that knowledge becomes really valuable later on. Anyway, my one reservation in all of this has been that Laura is a little more sorority girlish than me (seeing as how she did in fact join a sorority), and I've been afraid that this might be a problem--we'd have different interests, my politics would bore her, etc. Then yesterday she IMed me,* saying that she had been to see this young lady the night before. I think we're going to have a very nice time.

To me, Seattle represents a veritable orgy of pro-woman goodness. I love New Orleans, and I would defend it to the death to an outsider, but in some ways you really get all of the problems and scariness of a major metropolitan area, without a lot of the benefits.

I got two cds I ordered from Mr. Lady Records yesterday. In case you don't know, Mr. Lady is run by two women, and they only charge you $11 per cd, with no extra fees--no shipping, no handling, no nothin'.

*She's the only person in all the land who knows my IM name, and is therefore my only at-work buddy, besides you guys.** I'm not crazy about the whole IM phenomenon in general, because people get really testy if they find you online and you don't feel like/don't have time to talk to them.

** I'm known here a la bibliotheque as "The Loner." Seriously. I feel like I should wear a mask and cape. It's mainly because I don't smoke anymore, and therefore I don't get to witness all the exciting things that happen during smoke breaks.

Somebody wanted to know which cds I bought. I bought the New Women's Music Compilation (though it's a couple years old, actually) and the most recent Sarah Dougher.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31