<< Love, betrayal, and AT&T broadband >>
2002-10-28 - 8:39 a.m.

Janeane Garofalo is the patron saint of the Atheist Feminist Green Party Women of America. After seeing her perform on Saturday night, I went home feeling that I needed to be so much cooler and funnier and smarter and more politically aware that I am now. When I told Adam this the next day, he pointed out that Janeane gets paid millions of dollars to be all of these things several times a week for a couple of hours at a time. But that's no excuse! I must do more, better, now! (Thanks again for setting up such a lovely night.)

Anyway, speaking of Adam, it looks like he actually is going to be able to join me for my Orcas Island adventure. So that's exciting. I'm going to have sex on the Northwest coast, just like you're supposed to! Innkeepers will smile knowingly as they hand me the keys to my room! Housekeepers will titter at the Do Not Disturb sign on the door! I can't wait.

***

***

This weekend I realized for the first time that you can have basic cable for $12/month. I had always thought that the cheapest option was the $36 plan, but Adam told me no, I can get more than one channel and no longer wrestle with the rabbit ears for the low low price of only 40 cents a day! Is that worth it or what?

So I called up the good people at AT&T Broadband, and was connected with Lydia. Lydia and I had an instant bond--she was thrilled to hear from me, loved my name, and was anxious to help me join the legions of television-addicted Americans. ("You've never had cable? My goodness! Let's get you signed up right away!") I asked my new best friend Lydia what AT&T's cheapest plan was, and she outlined the $36/month plan. I was disappointed. I asked if I could think about it and call her back, but Lydia wanted to call me back, since otherwise our burgeoning relationship would end and I would be connected with some other, less caring AT&T Broadband operator.

So I thought about it for a few minutes. I was momentarily seduced by the idea of having Jon Stewart delivered into my living room each and every evening, but in the end, when Lydia called back, I told her I could only afford a $12/month plan, and since AT&T didn't offer one, I would have to pass.

And that's when it all came out. Lydia had LIED TO ME--AT&T does have a $12/month plan, but she'd kept it a secret. I felt betrayed, but in the end I let her go ahead and sign me up anyway. I hate for an hour to go by without Friends being transmitted into my home--who knows what wacky hijinks those kids will get into when I'm not looking?



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31