<< Respectable Feminist Action >>
2002-12-10 - 9:02 a.m.

I have, at least, been taking some real feminist action lately, so I don't have to be quite so ashamed of not living up to my little box in the lower left-hand corner. On Saturday I met with a woman from the Washington Toxics Coalition, and it was pretty exciting because they are really getting stuff done--getting laws passed and generally making the world nicer and less carcinogenic. So that's good.

I've also gotten out and dusted off an essay I wrote for, but for some reason never submitted to, Bust magazine. I plan to send it in by next week. So, yay.

And I'm practicing being quiet. My problem is that as a child, I was very, VERY shy--so shy that my mom had to force me to order my own Happy Meal at McDonalds, because I was afraid of the McDonalds cashier.

So over the years, I have forced myself to talk, and I've gotten reasonably good at it. Most people who know me now don't realize that I am terrified of my fellow human beings. The problem, though, is that I've kind of overcompensated, and now I generally feel that any pause in any conversation is my responsibility, and so I fill it with babble.

Red wine doesn't help.

But I can shut up when I put my mind to it, and I'm putting my mind to it now.



<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31