<< gunga galunga >>
2004-07-21 - 11:42 a.m.

After about seven (nonconsecutive) hours spent on hold (and occasionally actually talking with people) at four different medical facilities and my health insurance, I have finally figured out that my insurance is not going to cover $1,135.47 of my medical bills from this past year.

Now, you might think I'm retarded for not being able to figure out how much I owe, since all of these facilities actually do send me bills in the mail, by the truckload in fact. Unfortunately, though, they send me the bills before they send them to my insurance, and then they send them again afterwards. They send me separate bills for each procedure, too, and sometimes two different places bill me for the same thing, and then my insurance company sends me pieces of paper which might possibly be written in Sanskrit, I'm not sure. The point is, no mere human being could possibly deduce how much money she was supposed to send off, or to whom.

The health insurance lady finally broke it down for me: I had over $10,000 worth of fun stuff done to me this year (and it was worth every thrilling penny!), and my insurance only covers 90% of it. At that point, there was some crying (on my end--the health insurance lady managed to stay strong), but I picked myself up and dusted myself off and after only about six drinks, I felt a lot better. After all, it could have been worse--god knows what I would have had to spend on the radiation. And I am all healed and everything. So I've got that going for me. Which is nice.

And today, Mt. Rainier is shining and I'm a legal tenant of Sherwood Apartments, so I'm feeling okay about the world.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31