<< dragons in the wild >>
2005-08-15 - 6:41 p.m.

Do you know what is delicious? Iced coffee. Iced coffee is delicious.

The new job is going well so far. There are a lot more kids at this branch than in the one I worked in before, since this neighborhood is more family-oriented. Plus, there is a giant park with a kiddie pool right across the street, so some of the kids are still in their bathing suits and kind of damp and briny when they come in to get their summer reading prizes. It�s cute, though.

Today a girl of indeterminate age came in and asked me for a book about dragons. �Not pretend dragons, though. Real dragons. You know, like in the wild.� She was also interested in videos about natural disasters. She�d had a hard day, she explained, and movies about natural disasters really helped her unwind.

All in all, things are going really well. R. got a permanent offer from the company he�s been contracting for, and although it is not his dream job, it�s at least nice to know that the job isn�t going to run out while he looks for something more exciting. My job here isn�t permanent, but I�m the only one in my graduating library class to crack into this library system at all, so I feel like things will work out for me somehow, eventually. Maybe that�s hubris, but nobody could accuse me of not trying hard, at least.

And living together is pretty much awesome. I can�t believe I lucked into something this good. If I could have seen ahead to this point a year ago, I would have been, to pull a Southern phrase, plumb staggered.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31