<< staying clean >>
2002-09-24 - 10:55 a.m.

Day Two as Legal Secretary/Receptionist/Slave. I work in a corporate law firm. I have a 401k and a miserable (though technically short) commute. How did this happen?

I feel dirty.

Well, here's what I'm going to do to get my karma right.

Number 1: I am NOT going to do this for more than one year. I am going to become a resident, pay off a little debt, and be in the MLS program next fall with thousands and thousands of extra dollars under my belt.

Number 2: Activism. In my spare time, I am going to save the world, to the best of my ability. This isn't the most evil corporate law firm in the world, but it's still corporate law, so I'm going to have to be a little bit heroic to balance things out.

Number 3: This is a pretty easy job, with a lot of spare time. (Kind of like that other job I had, only it pays a hell of a lot better. And they don't make you pay for coffee.) So, in that spare time, I am going to write my senators, I am going to write write write, I am going to generally do all those things I talk about doing and sometimes do but not really often enough.

Number 4: Enjoy the hell out of my homework-free weekends.

Number 5: Figure out the bus system.

Do you think this is enough to keep me out of a special hell reserved for progressives-gone-corporate? I'm not getting paid that much.

<<< - >>>


Design by Soapboxdiner, modified by Red Dirt Girl.
Copyright � 2002-2005.
Here: Latest - Older - Random
There: - Notes - Guestbook - Email - Profile - Red Dirt Girl On Ice
Good Folks
- - 2007-12-14
- - 2007-01-19
gil-MORE - 2006-11-22
things that make you gay - 2006-11-07
scabs unite! - 2006-10-31